## SHEBOYGAN COUNTY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Administration Building 508 New York Avenue Sheboygan WI

May 25, 2010 Called to Order: 5:20 P.M. Adjourned: 7:04 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Michael Vandersteen, Jerry Holub, Goehring, Michael Ogéa,

Devin LeMahieu and William Goehring

ALSO PRESENT: Adam Payne, Kay Lorenz, David Weinhold, Sharon Winkle, Jim

Hulbert, Bill Bruckbauer, Tom Wegner, Ed Procek, Brian

Hoffmann, Roger Te Stroete and Mary Wegmann

Chairperson Vandersteen called the meeting to order. Kay Lorenz verified that the meeting notice was posted on May 19, 2010 at 10:45 A.M. in compliance with the open meeting law.

Supervisor Holub made a motion to approve the minutes of the April 21, 2010 Executive Committee meeting as mailed. Motion seconded by Supervisor LeMahieu. Motion carried.

The Committee discussed Resolution No. 04 – Amending the Sheboygan County Comprehensive Outdoor Recreation & Open Space Plan. Supervisor Ogea made a motion to recommend adoption of Resolution No. 04. Motion seconded by Supervisor LeMahieu. Motion carried.

Chairman Vandersteen provided the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Revolving Loan Fund Activity report for the period October 1, 2009 through March 31, 2010. Supervisor Holub made a notion to approve the report. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Supervisor LeMahieu and seconded by Supervisor Ogea to appoint Supervisor Val Schultz to the Loss Prevention Committee for a two-year term, Supervisor Keith Abler to the Revolving Loan Fund Committee for a two-year term, and Supervisor Jacob VanDixhorn to the Glacierland Resources Council for a two-year term subject to confirmation by the County Board. Motion carried.

The Committee reviewed the First Quarter 2010 Variance Reports for the County Board and County Administrator. Supervisor Holub made a motion to accept the reports. Motion seconded by Supervisor Ogea. Motion carried.

The Committee reviewed the 2009-10 Per Diem Report. Supervisor Ogea made a motion to approve the report and forward to the County Board. Motion seconded by Supervisor LeMahieu. Motion carried.

Supervisor Goehring arrived at 5:30 p.m.

Eastern Shores Library Service Executive Director David Weinhold presented the Committee with an overview of the Plan for County Library Service in Ozaukee and Sheboygan County 2011-2015. Supervisor Goehring made a motion to adopt the plan. Motion seconded by Supervisor Holub. Supervisor Goehring made a motion to amend the plan to include that Ozaukee County libraries which serve Sheboygan County non-libraried residents would be reimbursed at the same rate that Ozaukee County reimburses those libraries. Motion seconded by Supervisor Holub. Motion carried. The motion to adopt the plan as amended carried 4 to 1 with Supervisor LeMahieu voting no.

County Administrator Adam Payne briefly reviewed and discussed the correspondence from WCA and The Wisconsin Way; proposed an operational review of the Information Systems department in 2010; and distributed a letter from Highway Commissioner Greg Schnell regarding a detailed list of additional paving projects to be considered.

County Administrator reviewed the 2011 Budget Goal and Targets as proposed by the Committee Chairpersons. He also provided an overview of the 12 scenarios that had been presented to the Committee Chairpersons at their last two meetings, and reviewed the motions made by the Committee Chairpersons and the Finance Committee regarding the 2011 budget goal and targets. Supervisor Goehring made a motion, consistent with the Finance Committee and Committee Chairs, to implement Budget Scenario #7 with the following guiding principles: (1) no greater than a 3% increase in the tax levy, (2) the specific targets for each department as identified in Scenario #7, (3) preservation of the county's bond rating, (4) no reliance on the fund balance, (5) any increase in wages and benefits would necessitate reductions in programs and services, and (6) liaison committees are encouraged to establish priorities in the departments they oversee. Motion seconded by Supervisor Ogea. Motion catried unanimously.

Vouchers were reviewed. Supervisor Holub made a motion to approve the vouchers. Motion seconded by Supervisor LeMahieu. Motion carried

Supervisor Holub made a motion to adjourn. Motion seconded by Supervisor Ogea. Motion carried.

William Goehring, Secretary

Kay Lorenz, Recording Secretary