JOURNAL OF THE MEETING OF THE SHEBOYGAN COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

November 2, 2010

Pursuant to Section 59.11 of the Wisconsin Statutes, the November 2, 2010 session of the Sheboygan County Board was called to order by Chairperson Michael J. Vandersteen at 6:00 p.m. Chairperson Vandersteen noted that the notice of meeting was posted on October 27, 2010 at 2:30 p.m. in compliance with the open meeting law. The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance by all present.

The roll call was taken and recorded with 31 Supervisors present; Absent: 3 Supervisors Medina, Schultz, and Weggeman.

Supervisor Winkel made a motion for approval of the October 19, 2010 and October 26, 2010 Journals, which were distributed to all supervisors prior to the meeting. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Glavan and carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

PRESENTATIONS

4-H Ambassadors – Amber Rehberg, 4-H Youth Development Program Coordinator; Ashley Gulig and Anna Burkhardt, 4-H Youth Leaders, and Sarah Tarjeson, 4-H Youth Development Educator spoke about the 4-H organization, thanked the board for their contributions and continued support for the organization.

COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

County Administrator Adam Payne summarized the refinements made to the proposed 2011 budget during the prior County Board Meeting. Mr. Payne also reported that he scheduled a meeting with conservation association representatives to develop recommendations to modify and improve the recreation fees ordinance that was established by the board to help pay for maintaining and improving recreation facilities. Mr. Payne acknowledged County Clerk Julie Glancey and Supervisor Peggy Feider for their respective birthdays, Interim Planning and Conservation Director Aaron Brault for his good work resolving the Marsh Tower camera issue, and introduced the new UW-Extension co-department heads Tina Kohlman and Sara Tarjeson. Finally, Mr. Payne presented recently retired UW-Extension Agent Dave Such with a plaque for his 17 years of service with Sheboygan County.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

The Clerk read the report of the Executive Committee regarding Resolution No. 24 (2010-2011) Opting to Offer a Reduced Minimum Period of Imprisonment for OWI Offenders who Successfully Complete a Probation Period recommending amending the resolution by adding to the end of line 27: such as a WCS or similar program and as amended recommend adoption.

Supervisor Goehring made a motion to adopt the resolution. Supervisor Hoffmann seconded the motion.

Supervisor Marthenze made a motion to amend the resolution per the committee report. Supervisor Ogea seconded the motion which carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

Resolution No. 24 was adopted as amended on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

The Clerk read the report of the Executive Committee regarding Resolution No. 25 (2010-2011) Supporting County-owned Nursing Homes in the 2011-2013 State Budget recommending adoption.

Supervisor Marthenze made a motion to adopt the resolution. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Ogea and carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

The Clerk read the report of the Finance Committee regarding the **Recommendation on the 2011 Budget** recommending the budget be adopted as amended by the County Board on October 26, 2010 and that the overall County Tax Rate be set at \$5.23 per thousand dollars of equalized valuation.

Supervisor Te Stroete made a motion to concur with the committee report and adopt the budget as amended by the County Board on October 26, 2010. Supervisor Abler seconded the motion.

Supervisor Winkel made a motion to amend the budget by reducing the tax levy \$500,000 and increasing the use of undesignated fund balance by \$500,000. The motion was seconded by Supervisor LeMahieu and failed on roll call vote of the board of Ayes: 12; Supervisors Bemis, Cary, Epping, Glavan, Hoffmann, Holub, LeMahieu, Oppeneer, Otten, Van Der Male, Wheeler, and Winkel; Noes: 19, Absent: 3, Supervisors Medina, Schultz, and Weggeman.

The 2011 Budget was adopted as amended by the County Board on October 26, 2010 and that the overall County Tax Rate be set at \$5.23 per thousand dollars of equalized valuation on roll call vote of the board of Ayes: 22; Noes: 9, Supervisors Baumgart, Bemis, Cary, LeMahieu, Oppeneer, Otten, Procek, Raml, and Winkel; Absent: 3, Supervisors Medina, Schultz, and Weggeman.

The Clerk read the report of the Finance Committee regarding Resolution No. 26 (2010-2011) Authorizing the Human Resources Committee to Enter into Labor contract with Sheboygan County Law Enforcement Employees Association, WPPA-LEER recommending adoption. Concurring with the report were Supervisors Te Stroete, Abler, and Ziegelbauer; Opposed were Supervisors Goehring and Weggeman.

Supervisor LeMahieu made a motion to adopt the resolution. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Te Stroete and carried on roll call vote of the board of Ayes: 20, Noes: 11, Supervisors Cary, Epping, Goehring, Holub, Ogea, Oppeneer, Otten, Raml, Jacob Van Dixhorn, Wheeler, and Winkel; Absent: 3, Supervisors Medina, Schultz, and Weggeman.

The Clerk read the report of the Law Committee regarding Ordinance No. 06 (2010-2011) Updating Chapter 26 to Include Snow and Ice in Regulations on Use of Highway Rights-of-Way recommending enactment.

Supervisor Winkel made a motion to enact the ordinance. Supervisor Epping seconded the motion which carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

(Vice-Chairperson Holub presiding)

Pursuant to Rule IV of the Rules of Order, the following resolutions and ordinances were introduced by the Clerk and referred by the Vice-Chairperson as indicated:

Resolution No. 28 (2010-2011) Levying and Apportioning the Tax. Vice-Chairperson Holub announced that Pursuant to County Ordinance 5.06(a)(9)(B) this document is before the board for immediate action.

Supervisor Te Stroete made a motion to adopt the resolution. Supervisor Marthenze seconded the motion which carried on roll call vote of the board of Ayes: 28; Noes: 3, Supervisors Cary, LeMahieu, and Procek; Absent: 3, Supervisors Medina, Schultz, and Weggeman.

- Resolution No. 29 (2010-2011) Re: Authorizing the Human Resources Committee to Enter into Labor Contract with Sheboygan County Highway Department Employees Local 1749, AFSCME, AFL-CIO referred to the Finance Committee.
- **Resolution No. 30 (2010-2011)** Re: Authorizing the Human Resources Committee to Enter into Labor Contract with Sheboygan County Sheriff's Supervisors Association, WPPA LEER referred to the Finance Committee.
- Ordinance No. 07 (2010-2011) Re: Increasing Compensation and Pay Ranges for Non-bargaining Unit Personnel for 2011 and 2012 referred to the Finance Committee.
- Ordinance No. 08 (2010-2011) Re: Enacting County Records Retention/Disposition Schedule 2010 as Part of County Code referred to the Finance Committee.

ADJOURNMENT

Supervisor Bemis made a motion to adjourn to 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 21, 2010. Supervisor Winkel seconded the motion which carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board. The meeting was adjourned at 7:16 p.m.