## SHEBOYGAN COUNTY LAW COMMITTEE MINUTES

Sheboygan County Board Chambers 615 North 6<sup>th</sup> Street, 5<sup>th</sup> Floor Sheboygan, Wisconsin

July 29, 2010 Called to Order: 4:07 PM Adjourned: 6:30 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Chairman Brian Hoffmann, Vice Chairman Thomas Epping,

Secretary Thomas Wegner, Member Mark Winkel

MEMBERS ABSENT: Member George Marthenze

ALSO PRESENT: Michael Helmke, Glenn Berg, William Bruckbauer, David Adams,

Julia Nash, Mary Fetterer, Cory Roeseler, Karol Salata, Steve Steinhardt, Jim Risseeuw, Kurt Brasser, Edward Procek, Vernon Koch, Kris Wheeler, John Van Der Male, Leo Dunton, Roger Otten, Judge Bolgert, Judge Stengel, Judge Bourke, Judge VanAkkeren. Rebecca Persick, Judge Delahunt. Petermann, Joe DeCecco, Brad Abel, Eugene Wielgosh, Gerald Urban, Mike Brungraber, Sandy Schwiner, Jodi LeMahieu, Lori Weimann, Nancy Oostdyke, Charles Crowe, Patrick Runge, Philip Schaefer, Chad Broeren, Matt Spence, Chad Baumann, Shannon Brill, Todd Traas, Blaine Werner, Robert McDermott, Donald Schramm, Sharon Abel, Mark Mancl, Hugh Cowen, Jeffrey Miller, Tim Putz, Anthony Blodgett, Eric Pashley, David Obremski, Ethan Weber, John Bergman, Nathan Hatch, Jeff Bruggink, Seth Fuller, Kurt Schmidt, Steven Wimmer, Charles Paul, Adam Walter, Diana Allen, Matt Elliott, Mary Darrow, Mary Struck, Judith DeRuyter, Angela Sutkiewicz, Susan Schaubel, Chris Stock, Joel Urmanski, Jennifer Bork, Edward Ritger, Marion Dion, Jean Bonsack, Corrine

Kampmann

Chairman Hoffmann called the meeting to order at 4:07 p.m.

Chairman Hoffmann certified compliance with the open meeting law. The Agenda was posted at 8:45 a.m. on July 26, 2010.

The following positions were discussed reference the 2011 Sheriff's Department Budget:

Sergeant Court Services/Civil Process
Civil Process Server (one deputy)
Bailiffs (five deputies)
Detectives (four)
Evidence Technician (one)
MEG Unit (one deputy and one detective)
Deputies (ten)

## **Public Comments**

Supervisor Procek inquired if the Sheriff's Department receives any reimbursement when they assist another agency in an investigation. Captain Adams advised that there was no reimbursement to the Department.

The following individuals spoke in reference to courtroom security, crime in Sheboygan County, Supreme Court decisions, citizens safety, response times, Sheboygan County statistics including wages and benefits: Judge VanAkkeren, Judge Bolgert, Judge Stengel, Judge Bourke, Rebecca Persick, Assistant District Attorney Jennifer Bork, Assistant District Attorney Joel Urmanski, Brad Abel, Blaine Werner, Judge Delahunt, Attorney Ritger.

Motion by Winkel, second by Epping to adjourn at 6:30 p.m. Motion carried.

NEXT MEETING DATE: August 5, 2010

August 18, 2010

Linda Gruenke Recording Secretary Thomas Wegner Committee Secretary